Dmitri Sokolov (biathlete)

Dmitri Sokolov

Personal information

20 May 1924
Fadyushino, Kurgan, Russia

4 July 2009 (aged 85)



Dynamo Ufa

Medal record

Representing  Sweden

Biathlon World Championships

1958 Saalfelden
20 km team

1959 Courmayeur
20 km team

1959 Courmayeur
20 km ind.

1961 Umeå
20 km team

This name uses Eastern Slavic naming customs; the patronymic is Petrovich and the family name is Sokolov.
Dmitri Petrovich Sokolov (Russian: Дмитрий Петрович Соколов, 20 May 1924 – 4 July 2009) was a Russian biathlon competitor who won one gold and three silver medals at the world championships in 1958–61. He competed at the 1960 Winter Olympics and finished sixth.[1][2]
After graduating from school Sokolov worked at a cement factory and between 1942 and 1952 served in the Soviet Army. He fought in World War II and in 1985 was awarded the Order of the Patriotic War.[2] In the 1950s–60s, while competing himself, Sokolov coached biathlon and cross-country skiing.[3]

^ Dmitry Sokolov.
^ a b Курганскому “Динамо” – 70 лет! (4 March 2013)
^ СОКОЛОВ Дмитрий Петрович.


World champions in men’s biathlon – Team event

4 × 20 km (time)

1958: Sweden (Adolf Wiklund, Olle Gunneriusson, Sture Ohlin, Sven Nilsson)

3 × 20 km (time)

1959: Soviet Union (Vladimir Melanin, Dmitri Sokolov, Valentin Pzhenitsyn)
1961: Finland (Kalevi Huuskonen, Paavo Repo, Antti Tyrväinen)
1962: Soviet Union (Vladimir Melanin, Valentin Pzhenitsyn, Nikolay Puzanov)
1963: Soviet Union (Vladimir Melanin, Nikolay Mezharyakov, Valentin Pzhenitsyn)
1965: Norway (Olav Jordet, Ola Wærhaug, Ivar Nordkild)

4 × 20 km

1989: Soviet Union (Juri Kashkarov, Sergei Bulygin, Alexandr Popov, Sergei Tchepikov)
1990: East Germany (Raik Dittrich, Mark Kirchner, Birk Anders, Frank Luck)
1991: Italy (Hubert Leitgeb, Gottlieb Taschler, Simon Demetz, Wilfried Pallhuber)
1992: CIS (Eugeni Redkine, Alexander Tropnikov, Anatoly Zhdanovich, Alexandr Popov)
1993: Germany (Fritz Fischer, Frank Luck, Steffen Hoos, Sven Fischer)

4 × 10 km

1994: Italy (Pieralberto Carrara, Hubert Leitgeb, Andreas Zingerle, Wilfried Pallhuber)
1995: Norway (Frode Andresen, Dag Bjørndalen, Halvard Hanevold, Jon Åge Tyldum)
1996: Belarus (Petr Ivashko, Oleg Ryzhenkov, Alexandr Popov, Vadim Sashurin)